UoA Branch Members Ranked Second in the World in IEEEXtreme

Competitors migrate to the engineering cafe for dinner

Congratulations to Citrus Celebration, comprising Itamar Amith, Ronald Chan and Glen Robertson, on scooping up second place in the IEEEXtreme 3.0 international programming competition!

The team finished the 24-hour competition with 22,641 points, narrowly missing out on first place to a team from the University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka. They were one of just three teams in the world to successfully solve all twelve problems of the competition’s general contest. The results of the special contest propelled them from third place to second place, ahead of a team from Chulalongkorn University, Thailand.

With fifteen teams, the UoA Student Branch entered one of the largest contingents in the world. The Swizzlers, comprising Edward Peek, Ben Deeming and Andrew Chambers, was placed in the top 30 with 9,067 points, and a further four Auckland teams were ranked in the top 100.

A team of Branch volunteers, led by Chuan-Zheng Lee, kept competitors fed and watered through the contest. Thanks are due to local IEEE Section members Dr Michael Neve, Dr Nirmal Nair, Assoc. Prof Kevin Sowerby, Mr Colin Coghill and Dr Patrick Hu for volunteering to proctor the contest.

The University of Auckland teams who were ranked are:

Rank Team Members Score
2nd Citrus Celebration Glen Robertson 

Itamar Amith

Ronald Chan

30th The Swizzlers Edward Peek 

Ben Deeming

Andrew Chambers

84th I’m easy Paolo Edgerton Bachmann 

Jeremy Minton

Matt Kingston

90th Shift Happens Wei-Tsun Sun 

Andrew Austin

Ravikesh Chandra

92nd Pigwidgeon Aamir Mulla 

Sam Dalton

Medha Ghatikesh

93rd Penguins Mohammed Abu-alsaad 

Adeeb Rahman

Guanhua Zhao

144th FirST Ting Yu 

Steven Gong

Feixiang Ren

157th ARRR!!! Alex Fulton 1741
196th Good Lord Productions Ivan Li 

Sahil Jain

Devendra Vijay

206th MHS (MHS haz skillz!!!!) Michael Robertson 

Hengjie Wang

Shafqat Bhuiyan

228th Team Mudkip Phillip Cao 

Ming Lee Cheuk

Herng Jeng Leong

236th Team Alpha Jingcheng Bian 

Isuru Pathirana

Qing Lin


Full results are available at www.ieeextreme.org.

See also this article on the Faculty website.