Student Branch wins the Region 10 Outstanding Student Branch Award 2011

On the 8th of July, The University of Auckland IEEE Student Branch was presented with the 2011 Region 10 Outstanding Student Branch Award. The Branch also received a certificate for third place as an Exemplary Student Branch in 2010. The awards were presented to the Branch during the Congress Dinner of the IEEE Region 10 Student/GOLD/WIE Congress held in Auckland.

From left: Chuan-Zheng Lee, holding the 2010 Award; Adrian Pais, 2002 Branch Chair; and Hengjie Wang, holding the Outstanding Student Branch 2011 Award

Professor Michael Davies, The University of Auckland Dean of Engineering, was delighted by the Branch being presented with the awards for both 2010 and 2011. “The award of the top student branch in 2011 is a reflection of the professional way in which the Auckland IEEE Student Branch contributed to the success of the Congress as well as their other activities.”

Dr. Nirmal Nair, The University of Auckland IEEE SB Counsellor since 2005, remarks that the Branch has come a long way in terms of strategic and sustained growth and for the quality of activities it offers to its members. He is particularly delighted with the fact that the Branch has served as a wonderful incubator for leadership amongst its student branch volunteers.

The Student Branch Executive Committee, both past and present, have worked hard and deserve commendations under the leadership of 2009-2010 Past Chair Chuan-Zheng Lee and current Chair Hengjie Wang. We’d also like to thank those whom, at the beginning of our Branch’s long history, have created the foundations of which our Branch has built on top of – Past Chairs Adrian Pais, Abhinabh Duffadar, George Gordon and their respective teams. Also, all Branch members deserve a big thank you for supporting and attending our events and contributing to the Branch’s success.

We look forward to building on this success well into the future.


News Item from Region 10 Student Activities Committee